Transaction date

July 2021

Sector

Retail / Ecommerce Franchise

Transaction type

Sale / Spin-off

Country

Switzerland / Netherlands / USA

SMC Corporate Finance exclusively advised IIC – INTERSPORT International Corporation GmbH on the sale of The Athlete’s Foot to Arklyz Group, owner of Intersocks.

Global performance sports retailer INTERSPORT International Corporation (IIC) strengthens its core business and have agreed on a deal to sell 100% of the highly successful The Athlete’s Foot (TAF) retail and ecommerce network to Arklyz Group AG (Arklyz) – owner of Intersocks. As part of the deal, IIC and Arklyz have agreed on a close cooperation which will bring synergies and a beneficial development for all parties involved.

IIC – INTERSPORT International Corp. (IIC) has decided to further strengthen its core business to focus on sports performance retail. The very successful specialty footwear and lifestyle chain “The Athletes Foot (TAF)” will be acquired by Arklyz Group AG (Arklyz), owner of Intersocks and longtime partner of Intersport, as of end of July 2021. The signing of this transaction took place on June 30, 2021 and the closing of the deal will take place by the end of July, 2021. The parties have agreed not to disclose financial details of the transaction.

Arklyz will take over the worldwide TAF business including its trademark rights and all franchise agreements. IIC’s CEO Steve Evers says: “With Arklyz, a strong operative investor was chosen among different interested parties to ensure that TAF can continue to grow rapidly and successfully. That we have worked closely with Arklyz subsidiary, Intersocks for many years has made the decision even easier and it is our goal to further strengthen this relationship.”

IIC acquired TAF in 2012 and since then it consistently and successfully expanded it to increase the turnover to USD 400 million in 2020. Today, TAF has 564 stores in 32 markets, including Europe, The United States, Mexico, Peru, Kuwait, Indonesia, Philippines, Australia and New Zealand. TAF also successfully operates ecommerce platforms in those markets – building a strong omni-channel sales network over the years.

The SMC team led by Marcel Goetsch, Managing Partner, advised the sellers in the search for a suitable strategic buyer and supported them in the complete sell-side process including strategy evaluation, business valuation, buyer identification, deal structuring, negotiating and closing of the transaction.

About IIC – INTERSPORT International Corporation
With a turnover of over EUR 10.2 billion in 2020 and more than 5‘200 specialist sports stores in 44 countries, the INTERSPORT Group is among the world’s leading sporting goods retailers.

About The Athlete’s Foot (TAF)
The Athlete’s Foot, sneaker and streetwear chain, has 564 stores and e-commerce shops in 32 countries which generated sales of USD 400 million in 2020.

About ARKLYZ – ARKLYZ Group AG
Arklyz is a fast-growing powerhouse in the arena of sports, athleisure and workwear. Arklyz covers a vertically connected set of activities with a special focus on brand management, distribution, retail & ecommerce and manufacturing.

Other retail and consumer goods transactions:

Transaktionsdatum

Juli 2021

Sektor

Retail / Ecommerce Franchise

Transaktionstyp

Verkauf / Spin-Off

Land

Schweiz / Niederlanden / USA

SMC Corporate Finance hat IIC-INTERSPORT International Corporation GmbH exklusiv beim Verkauf von The Athlete’s Foot an die Arklyz Group, Eigentümerin von Intersocks, beraten.

Der globale Sporthändler INTERSPORT International Corporation (IIC) stärkt sein Kerngeschäft und verkauft 100% des erfolgreichen Handels- und E-Commerce-Netzwerks The Athlete’s Foot (TAF) an die Arklyz Group AG (Arklyz) – Eigentümerin von Intersocks. Im Rahmen der Transaktion haben IIC und Arklyz eine enge Zusammenarbeit vereinbart, die Synergien und eine vorteilhafte Entwicklung für alle Beteiligten bringt.

IIC – INTERSPORT International Corp. (IIC) hat beschlossen, ihr Kerngeschäft weiter zu stärken und sich auf den Sporthandel zu fokussieren. Die sehr erfolgreiche Spezialschuh- und Lifestyle-Kette «The Athletes Foot (TAF)« wird ab Ende Juli 2021 von der Arklyz Group AG (Arklyz), Inhaberin von Intersocks und langjähriger Partner von Intersport, übernommen. Die Unterzeichnung der Transaktion erfolgte am 30. Juni 2021 und das Closing der Transaktion wird bis Ende Juli 2021 erfolgen. Die Parteien haben Stillschweigen über die finanziellen Einzelheiten der Transaktion vereinbart.

Arklyz wird das weltweite TAF-Geschäft einschliesslich der Markenrechte und aller Franchise-Verträge übernehmen. Steve Evers, CEO von IIC, sagt: «Mit Arklyz wurde aus verschiedenen Interessenten ein starker operativer Investor ausgewählt, um sicherzustellen, dass TAF weiterhin rasch und erfolgreich wachsen kann. Die langjährige enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Tochtergesellschaft Arklyz hat uns die Entscheidung noch einfacher gemacht und wir wollen diese Beziehung weiter stärken.»

IIC hat TAF im Jahr 2012 übernommen und seitdem konsequent und erfolgreich ausgebaut, um den Umsatz bis 2020 auf USD 400 Mio. zu steigern. Heute hat TAF 564 Filialen in 32 Märkten, darunter Europa, USA, Mexiko, Peru, Kuwait, Indonesien, Philippinen, Australien und Neuseeland. In diesen Märkten betreibt TAF auch erfolgreich E-Commerce-Plattformen und baute im Laufe der Jahre ein starkes Omnichannel-Vertriebsnetz auf.

Das SMC-Team unter Leitung von Marcel Goetsch, Managing Partner, beriet die Verkäufer bei der Suche nach einem geeigneten strategischen Käufer und unterstützte sie im kompletten Sell-Side-Prozess inklusive Strategiebewertung, Unternehmensbewertung, Käuferidentifikation, Vertragsstrukturierung, Verhandlung und Abschluss der Transaktion.

Über IIC – INTERSPORT International Corporation
Mit einem Umsatz von über 10,2 Milliarden Euro im Jahr 2020 und mehr als 5200 Sportfachgeschäften in 44 Ländern gehört die INTERSPORT Gruppe zu den weltweit führenden Sportartikelhändlern.

Über The Athlete’s Foot (TAF)
Die Sneaker & Streetwear-Kette Athlete’s Foot verfügt über 564 Geschäfte und E-Commerce-Shops in 32 Ländern, die 2020 einen Umsatz von 400 Millionen US-Dollar erwirtschafteten.

Über ARKLYZ – ARKLYZ Group AG
Arklyz ist ein schnell wachsendes “Powerhouse” im Bereich Sport, Athleisure und Workwear. Arklyz deckt ein vertikal vernetztes Spektrum von Aktivitäten mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Markenmanagement, Vertrieb, Einzelhandel & E-Commerce und Fertigung ab.

Weitere Retail und Konsumgüter Transaktionen: